Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons – Preparatory Committee


8-19 April 2002 in New York

The Preparatory Committee for the 2005 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) held its first session from 8 to 19 April 2002 at United Nations Headquarters in New York . The Chairman for the first session was Ambassador Henrik  Salander of Sweden.

Of the then 187 States parties to the Treaty, 139 participated in the work of the first session of the Preparatory Committee. The open meetings of the session were also attended by Cuba as an observer State; representatives from  eight specialized agencies and regional intergovernmental organizations, and by representatives of 62 non-governmental organizations (NGOs). One meeting of the session was devoted to 14 presentations by NGOs.

Report of the Preparatory Committee on its first session


Press Releases

Press Release: Preparatory Committee for Non-Proliferation Treaty Review Conference to meet, 8-19 April.

Press Release: First Session of Preparatory Committee for 2005 Review Conference of Parties to Treaty on Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons.